Pancakes, Rings, Awards & Things!

So I’m going to start backwards…

Look what I just got! 😀 😀 😀 Official loss to date: 4st 1lb since 4th April 2015. It feels amazing!

Except for one thing… my pants keep falling down :/ Sorry, TMI I know, but it’s one of those things you don’t really think about! You buy new clothes when you change size, but things like undies and jammies somehow get forgotten about. I really must sort that…

And for a slightly more unusual representation of my weight loss to date, how about this:

ring sizes

On the right is my engagement ring (‘above average’ ring finger size). On the left is my new ring size (3 sizes smaller – apparently now ‘below average’ ring finger size!). So of course, now I have the week of occasional panic where I keep forgetting that I’m having them resized!

This week has also made me happy for lots of other reasons too. Simple things like seeing my husband unexpectedly at lunch time today and stealing a kiss in the middle of a work day, or all the lovely comments tonight in my local Slimming World group about my blog. It’s a good, smiley kind of week.

Plus lunch out tomorrow, game day on Saturday, Valentine’s day and a church walk to look forward to this weekend! 🙂

Of course, it helps that this week included one of my favourite holidays. P-P-P-P-P-P-P-P Pancake Day!! Or Shrove Tuesday if you’re being technical. Unfortunately this year it didn’t fall on my birthday (as it sometimes does), but it was still fab.

My husband and I both love pancakes, so finding a way of eating them ‘on plan’ was essential. As the image below shows – I definitely managed! Four whole pancakes all to myself, with toppings, and only 10 Syns for the lot. Happy, happy, happy!

Pancake Day

The recipe I used for the pancakes is as follows:

  • 50g plain flour (9 Syns)
  • 3 eggs
  • 300ml Skimmed Milk (I used milk from my Healthy Extra A allowance, but 4.5 syns if not using your HEA)
  • 1 tbsp sweetener
  • pinch of salt

Plus I fried them in Frylight of course.

This made eight pancakes altogether, split between me and my husband.

I was pretty impressed! Slightly more eggy than the pancakes I used to have, but not at all bad and still very pancake-y.

So in terms of toppings, clockwise from top left, this is what I had:

  1. Caramel ‘cream’ and fresh raspberries (you can find the caramel ‘cream’ recipe in my previous blog post ‘Make it FREE‘) – Syn free
  2. Sliced banana and a tablespoon of Choc Shot – 2 Syns
  3. Caramel Sauce – 3.5 Syns (the one I used is actually from France (where my parents live), but is very similar to this one from Waitrose so that’s the Syn count I used)
  4. Lemon juice and sweetener – Syn free

So 4.5 Syns for my pancakes (using my HEA) and 5.5 Syns for my toppings = 10 Syns, well within my 15 a day limit. Hurrah!

So what did everyone else have on their pancakes??

Leave a Reply

