Kheema Mattar and the journey so far!

Kheema Mattar is a recipe I have been meaning to post for ages, but for some reason have never quite got around to it!

However, today was our Slimming World group’s Woman of the Year competition and taster session, so I thought this would be the perfect opportunity to share it, both physically in group and on here with all of you lovely readers 🙂

There are several things I love about this recipe:

  1. It’s easy! One big pan, add ingredients in stages, stir it, serve it. Bish, bash, bosh as Jamie Oliver would say!
  2. The flavours – fabulous Indian spice flavours but without being too hot for my tastebuds – plus you can alter the spicing to your own personal tastes
  3. It’s Syn free and works on SP – always a plus to boost your weight loss
  4. It can be combined with a million different side dishes and serving options – my personal favourite being to serve it stuffed in a variety of speedy vegetables!

You get the idea! Serving it stuffed in tomatoes or baby peppers also makes it a great dish for buffets, picnics and tasters.

Tonight I was also extremely honoured to be crowned Woman of the Year for my group the second year running. I was truly shocked to win again as I am personally so inspired by some of the other women in my group and I was sure they were so much more deserving! Huge, huge hugs and love to the other amazing five women who were nominated alongside me – please know that I feel so lucky to be inspired and supported by you in return!

So since I was sharing my story tonight in group, I thought it would also be a good time to reflect back on the journey so far. Those of you who have been following the blog for a while will have seen a lot of these images, but putting them all together helped me see just how much has changed!

work in progress

The last photo is of me fitting into my first ever item of work-branded clothing, ready to support clearing at Sheffield Hallam University this week. As I work in marketing there have been numerous occasions in the past when I should have been wearing branded clothing, at events for example. But before now I usually ended up having to wear something different to all my colleagues because the largest size they had was XXL and it didn’t fit. So I was super excited to find that, if it hadn’t been for my bust size, I would have had room to spare this time!

Although I’m still only just over half way through (4st 4lbs lost and 4st to go) I am super proud of how far I’ve come. It’s definitely true to say that this journey isn’t easy and hasn’t been without it’s hiccups and challenges (as regular readers will have seen!). But my health and fitness changes alone definitely make it all worth it. And the fertility issues alone are enough to keep me going!

For anyone struggling, I have this to say – I get it. This sucks. It’s hard. It’s emotional. You will have doubts, you will be tempted and sometimes you will go off track.

BUT YOU ARE WORTH IT.

Your health is worth it. Your family is worth it. Your smile when you see a good result on the scales or fit into a new size, is totally worth it! Your happiness IS WORTH IT.

So don’t give up. I’m rooting for you!

Kheema Mattar

Serves 4

Syn free on Extra Easy and suitable for Extra Easy SP

Ingredients

  • Frylight
  • 500g mince (beef, lamb, turkey or Quorn depending on preference)
  • 1 large onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 yellow pepper, finely chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 160g shelled peas (if using frozen peas reduce the amount of stock by half)
  • 300ml stock (vegetable, chicken or beef depending on preference)
  • ½ pack cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 2 tbsp garam masala
  • 1 tbsp garlic granules
  • 1 tbsp coriander leaf
  • 1 tsp chilli powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp turmeric

Method

  1. Spray a wok or large frying pan with Frylight and sauté the onions, peppers and garlic until soft
  2. Add the mince and continue frying until cooked through
  3. Add the spices and peas and mix well
  4. Pour over the stock and leave to simmer for a few minutes, until the stock is reduced by half
  5. Finally add the tomatoes, mix well and continue to simmer until all the liquid is absorbed
  6. Serve in or with your choice of sides
2 Comments Add yours

  1. deeangelique says:

    You’re doing amazing sis, well done. And congrats on the award. What clothes size are you now and what were you when you started?

    p.s. i do a similar mince thing for dinner now! But i do a mexicany one, not indiany. I do mince in a frying pan with kidney beans and sweetcorn, bit of tomato puree from a tube, and a bit of spices. Then serve in taco shells or with jacket potato. Look at me being all cooky! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks sis 🙂

      You do know everyone can read your comments on the blog yeah? Lol.

      I started at a size 30/32 and am currently a size 18/20. Still a way to go but progress!

      Well done on the cooking 🙂 xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

